Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Minimum iTrader / Post Count for Review Copies

  1. #1
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts

    Minimum iTrader / Post Count for Review Copies

    I believe there should be a new rule implemented that prevents people who have a low post count or positive iTrader from asking for review copies. I am making this suggestion because I feel that when someone with only 5 iTrader is asking for a review copy, it makes threads look spammy and the community gets the appearance of just wanting to find free stuff.

    So, maybe we could try something like:
    In order to request a review copy in any thread, you must have a minimum of 15 positive iTrader and 700 posts. -- Or something like that.

    What do you think?

  2. #2
    ruben's Avatar
    ruben is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    378
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
    Well I use DP marketplace so its hard to get itraders on NB
    I could name some trusted members that have low itrader
    jorge, keldorn aka dollar, webevader, etc.

  3. #3
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Hmm, this is true - so maybe something more like:
    15 positive iTrader OR 700 posts (just two random numbers... could be anything)

    I don't know. I've just seen quite a few members of the community who haven't been around long or haven't contributed or anything, yet they're out there asking for review copies. It just seems like a bad thing to me.

    Here are two examples I just found. These two guys asked for review copies:
    iTrader: (5)
    Posts: 262

    iTrader: (0)
    Posts: 2

  4. #4
    sam's Avatar
    sam
    sam is offline Get Back To Work!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    367
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 98 Times in 77 Posts
    In my opinion I don't think you can put a rule on this sort of thing its who the seller wants to give the free review too. Although I kind of get what you mean it does look odd if someone with only 2 posts gets a review but that is up to the seller personally I wouldn't give one to someone with less than 100 posts or something though. But also I think your numbers are a bit high as I have seen people with only 100 posts that I would rather deal with over someone with thousands. To me post count doesn't really matter its whats in the posts that the people have made that does when dealing with someone although that may just be me.
    Just my $0.02

  5. #5
    Nathan's Avatar
    Nathan is offline Work!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    392
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 120 Times in 68 Posts
    As long as they give a legit review I see no problem with who gets review copies. At the end of the day it is up to the seller to make this decision.
    Programmer, web developer and entrepreneur.

  6. #6
    EvanP is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sam View Post
    In my opinion I don't think you can put a rule on this sort of thing its who the seller wants to give the free review too. Although I kind of get what you mean it does look odd if someone with only 2 posts gets a review but that is up to the seller personally I wouldn't give one to someone with less than 100 posts or something though. But also I think your numbers are a bit high as I have seen people with only 100 posts that I would rather deal with over someone with thousands. To me post count doesn't really matter its whats in the posts that the people have made that does when dealing with someone although that may just be me.
    Just my $0.02
    I agree with this. You shouldn't be putting limits on this kind of thing, like this person said, it's up to the seller.

  7. #7
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Right, I understand that it's up to the seller - but how do you think the community is portrayed when they create a thread and a mess of new members are just begging for review copies? It looks very trashy. Obviously they can utilize whomever they want to for a review, but I think this issue extends beyond that.

  8. #8
    ruben's Avatar
    ruben is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    378
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kovich View Post
    Right, I understand that it's up to the seller - but how do you think the community is portrayed when they create a thread and a mess of new members are just begging for review copies? It looks very trashy. Obviously they can utilize whomever they want to for a review, but I think this issue extends beyond that.
    just specify a required number of post or itraders to claim the free review

  9. #9
    Charles's Avatar
    Charles is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    On the Bike
    Posts
    1,211
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    311
    Thanked 311 Times in 212 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sam View Post
    I have seen people with only 100 posts that I would rather deal with over someone with thousands.
    There are only 2 people on these boards with thousands of posts.

  10. Thanked by:

    sam (14 February, 2010)

  11. #10
    sam's Avatar
    sam
    sam is offline Get Back To Work!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    367
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 98 Times in 77 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charles View Post
    There are only 2 people on these boards with thousands of posts.
    Who said I was talking about this forum?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Highest post count on a forum?
    By Sbfc_ in forum Community Building
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 18 April, 2010, 23:40 PM
  2. What is a good post minimum?
    By gavenecko in forum Blogging
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 24 February, 2010, 00:07 AM
  3. How to know GC post count ?
    By GeeOne in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21 November, 2009, 03:49 AM
  4. Post Count Visible Or Not?
    By Aquarezz in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 16 August, 2009, 03:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •