View Poll Results: Your thoughts on FREE reviews

Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll
  • I will NOT take free reviews - It discourages providers

    1 20.00%
  • I will take them. I like free service at the cost ofwriting review

    0 0%
  • I'd opt for 50% discount and upfront payment

    0 0%
  • I'd prefer paying full after the good service

    4 80.00%
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: NO favor to FREE Reviews - Service Comes With A Price

  1. #1
    ChillingBreeze's Avatar
    ChillingBreeze is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    SunitaBiddu.com
    Posts
    462
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 146 Times in 95 Posts

    NO favor to FREE Reviews - Service Comes With A Price

    It's indeed very disappointing to give and ask for free reviews even if the service provider is new to the board. It could be one of the main reasons why marketplace is not growing as good as it should, considering there are some real good buyers and providers around. This has prompted me to come up with a "NO FREE Reviews" motion and I expect people to put forward their thoughts.

    At the same time, I have some ideas for providers and buyers to encourage a trusted business relationship. Suggestions, additions are most welcome

    1- New service providers and old providers with new services MUST add some samples in their threads or if something is confidential because of security reasons, they should be ready to send samples via PM/emails.

    2- The service threads must be very clear and detailed (not long stories though) so the buyers get the answer for general questions they may have.

    3- If you're an experienced service provider but no itrader here, then try to add 2-3 old testimonials (real and clickable if possible) from other forums or your business websites.

    4- If you're a beginner in freelancing, then give a flat 50% discount to first 2-3 reputed buyers. It is better to get at least something for the service rather than a free review. Money motivates the quality too. This fee should be refundable if your service is not up to the desired standards that you've promised in your thread.

    5- Be active on your thread. be genuine. Be real without throwing lot of sales pitch.

    6- Add your IM details if possible so prospects can contact you directly.

    7- And most important what I believe, try to build your presence and reputation before you're up with any service. So that people notice your expertise and skills live on board. being active and interacting with other members for at least 15-20 days is good in order to have comparatively more interest and service trials.

    Something for Buyers

    Try to pay after the service if it really deserves, if you're skeptical. This will encourage talented and new freelancers.

    Give your honest and detailed review if possible

    These were my thoughts. I'd welcome any critic, additions, suggestions, comments here.

    Thanks
    Last edited by ChillingBreeze; 13 April, 2010 at 18:32 PM.
    SEO girl...


  2. Thanked by:

    Aziz (2 May, 2010), Kovich (3 May, 2010), sturat (13 April, 2010)

  3. #2
    Priyojeet's Avatar
    Priyojeet is offline Pooja.Priyo Content Writing Services
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Exactly, money motivates the quality.Lot of sales pitch doesn't win you clients. It's better to share you work samples with your prospective new clients. I agree with all the points you have mentioned here.

  4. #3
    GeeOne's Avatar
    GeeOne is offline Off topic forum - The Offwalk
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    offwalk.com
    Posts
    1,514
    Blog Entries
    11
    Thanks
    352
    Thanked 249 Times in 222 Posts
    Here is my view on that:

    I would like to say here only one thing, that NB must have Good and reasonable seller (A good Mandi, Indian friends would easily understand this), the buyers will come automatically to buy good services on reasonable terms. NB need to encourage good service provider (how is a big question and debatable also, but certainly there are many ways to give the incentives to sellers)

    For free copy, nothing wrong in offering by seller, by that way they can advertise their product/services and have the comments from the buyer (Here also it depend on the buyer or seller that they want it free for some token payment, I would prefer to pay at this system)

    And for payment for me some time I feel to pay after the work is done or part payment upfront (very recently for last two three transaction, after couple of not good experience from seller)

    Please note as mentioned above this is my personal view from, a non webmaster

    Sunita you have created wonderful thread, would be really interesting to read following comments, views and feedback.

    Thanx and rgds,

    G!
    Last edited by GeeOne; 2 May, 2010 at 05:25 AM.

  5. Thanked by:

    sturat (2 May, 2010)

  6. #4
    SonnyCooL's Avatar
    SonnyCooL is offline HeeHa
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melb/Malaysia
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 92 Times in 78 Posts
    for me i don't trust free copy review .....
    sometime i do hate abt seller when i pay premium but i don't get premium stuff, how to pay when i know nothing abt it ...

  7. #5
    Priyojeet's Avatar
    Priyojeet is offline Pooja.Priyo Content Writing Services
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    If the quality of the content is good then eventually in the long run the content provider will find the right seller. There is no harm in providing free reviews or content for a new content provider, however it should be more like a sample review rather than a full blown article.

    This is the age old story for not just this business but any business. When you are trying to make a foothold in the business some compromises should be taken as investments.

  8. #6
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    I have received many free review copies from a variety of sellers and service providers here at NetBuilders. I think that offering a review package helps let someone test whatever you're selling and it shows that you're serious about your business. It also helps alleviate the fear of scammers lurking in the area. Now, obviously if you're selling a professional package of say... the creation of 20 Web 2.0 Hubs, you could minimize that package and offer a free review copy of 1 Web 2.0 Hub to someone with x amount of iTrader or higher.

    That single free review copy shouldn't eat up too many of your resources, and it helps set the foundation for your business dealings here in the community. It lets people see what you're offering and should result in additional sales. I don't see any problem with a free review copy.

    However, I see a member or two who just troll the marketplace demanding free review copies in every sales thread. Then, other people jump on the bandwagon and demand free review copies as well. Before you know it, the first page of their sales thread is 'FREE REVIEW COPY PLZ' over and over, from members who clearly have no intention of helping the community or making a sale... they just want something for free. This needs to stop.

    I once introduced an idea that we set minimum post counts or iTrader levels for review copies - making a universal system to reduce spam and people taking advantage of sellers. Unfortunately, this idea was quickly shot down and no one seemed to support it. I think we need to do something intense that stops people from ravaging the marketplace with the interests in getting free stuff.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20 May, 2010, 19:42 PM
  2. [WTS] Rewriting service at very low price 100% copyscape
    By net2012 in forum Services
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31 March, 2010, 11:00 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 20 January, 2010, 04:31 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14 December, 2009, 11:14 AM
  5. [WTS] Quality Bookmarking Service at a Very Low Price
    By pathaan in forum Services
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21 November, 2009, 16:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •