Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Should admin have an opinion?

  1. #1
    blockhead is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Should admin have an opinion?

    I dont think this is me,but the thought did cross my mind, but when trying to get joins to a small forum do you tend to sit back or do you try to direct the type of poster that you want immediately?

  2. #2
    tomgholmes is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Should admin have an opinion?

    Not sure I understand what you mean. The admin should be the most active poster and generally, as long as the posting doesn't break your forum rules, then accept anybody. Try to encourage proper language though.

  3. #3
    iJerick is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Should admin have an opinion?

    I agree with Sir tom. The admin should be the one that is active in posting.

  4. #4
    phio69 is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Should admin have an opinion?

    I am also confused by the meaning of the question.

    but if it's indeed what Tom meant, I think at the beginning the admin must be the most active poster in the poster. that is, to show that he is serious about building his forum and trying to get attention of people. but over time, as the forum grow bigger, the admin shouldn't have to be the most active poster anymore, since I think it is time to give that chance to other members. ^__^

  5. #5
    Felly is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Should admin have an opinion?

    At the beginning, the admin should be the primary poster. It'll help with activity and whatnot. Once the forums get popular and whatnot, then the admin can just sit back and make sure things are running smoothly on the forums.

  6. #6
    blockhead is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Should admin have an opinion?

    yes sorry, because this is a hypothetical question I did not articulate it well.



    At the start you may only have one or two posting members, if they bounce off each other but you don't agree with them, what would you do? risk upsetting them and have no-one?

  7. #7
    Macster is offline Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    The Internet
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Should admin have an opinion?

    My thoughts are as followed... if I was running a site, and could not get along with two fellow admins.. that are under me.. then I would talk with them and discuss the matter, or simply tell them they can't help anymore because their not helping the site in anyway to help it better itself. Fighting amongst admins is a no no, and it's counter productive to a goal you should have from the start... a well rounded bunch of individuals, who one can speak their mind all they want, but need to keep it a cool level, and keep it professional, otherwise you don't need them and should seek elsewhere for someone to replace them.



    Always remember it's your site not theirs... eventhough it may seem harsh at first but it's facts .

  8. #8
    betatime is offline Unknown Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not on the day to day operations of the community. Let the staff run the site. The admin should remain in the background keeping everything on the backend humming along. Things run better that way. The last thing you want to do is one up the rest of the staff.

  9. #9
    Lee Lawson is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    An admin should always have an opinion but so should members, if a member wants something the admin will think then will give his opinion, the way I work round it.

Similar Threads

  1. New Article Directory - Your opinion
    By 2upsae in forum Article Marketing
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5 November, 2012, 11:09 AM
  2. Need Proxy webmasters Opinion
    By Kaustubh in forum Proxy Templates
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12 October, 2012, 20:17 PM
  3. Need Opinion on server and DB ...
    By SonnyCooL in forum Building
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10 November, 2010, 20:48 PM
  4. Something that went from bad to chaotic! Your opinion?
    By StephenM in forum Community Building
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25 February, 2010, 23:32 PM
  5. Need your opinion
    By Mechanical in forum Promoting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20 June, 2009, 09:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •