Someone is trying to catch me in a common domain appraisal scam.
Here's the first email of the scam:Hello,
Are you interested in sale of your domain? Please name your price.
We are in real estate. But we are very interested in Internet names and
web sites too.
If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list.
Looking forward to do business with you.
I responded with this:Yes, this domain is for sale.
I just started accepting offers yesterday and I intend to start
negotiating seriously once the domain has attracted interested from a
few serious bidders.
I look forward to seeing a bid from you.

Then came the bait and the hook:My wife gave birth to a child. So I could not respond fast. We celebrated.
Can you accept 10 000 USD?
Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?
Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain
appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very
important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation
company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from
independent sources I and my partners trust.
To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal
companies.
Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers:
Domain Talk
If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price
accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15%
discount.
After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to
obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations.
What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire
transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
Hope we can come to an agreement fast.
Looking forward to your reply.
I responded very plainly, letting him know that I would not be a victim of a common domain appraisal scam (or of a PayPal reverse charge scam):I will record your offer of $10,000 USD. I will give the other bidders
a week to make their offers.
The only true valuation is "what are the buyers willing to pay". All
other valuation systems are scams meant to separate fools from their
money.
There is no web site, just the domain name.
Payment will be made through Escrow.com.
I have not heard back from him, nor do I expect to.
The URL he directed me to is a fake vBulletin archive. It's really just a landing page redirecting people to his domain "appraisal" service. It's a sharp way to separate fools from sixty euros.
Bookmarks