Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: I broke my piggy bank :)

  1. #1
    Franc Tireur is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,119
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 148 Times in 118 Posts

    I broke my piggy bank :)

    Like the title said, I broke my piggy bank to redesign my site. Nothing fancy really with my tighten budget, but it looks better than the old one.

    The new design is in css with CMS, so it is easier to manipulate.

    Please review our site the link is in my signature.

    Thank you very much
    Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.

    Voltaire


  2. #2
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    697
    Thanked 293 Times in 221 Posts
    Hi,

    A very nice and clean layout

    I hope you piggy bank will recover with the new design.

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  3. Thanked by:

    Franc Tireur (27 May, 2011)

  4. #3
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    I like this layout a lot more! Nice work!

  5. Thanked by:

    Franc Tireur (27 May, 2011)

  6. #4
    Franc Tireur is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,119
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 148 Times in 118 Posts
    Thank you, currently the search engines are updating the pages smoothly
    Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.

    Voltaire


  7. #5
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Natural Elements View Post
    Thank you, currently the search engines are updating the pages smoothly
    Excellent! Keep us updated on how things go!
    By the way, how has business been these days? Haven't spoken to you in a while.

  8. Thanked by:

    Franc Tireur (27 May, 2011)

  9. #6
    Loko's Avatar
    Loko is offline Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    964
    Thanks
    351
    Thanked 347 Times in 241 Posts
    Congrats on the new site, definitely an improvement.

    From the point of view as an average user (i'm not a designer or usability expert )

    What I like about your new site:
    'Spacier' compared to the old site (as far as i can recall), makes it easy to read.
    Articles, cool! (did you have these before?).
    Nice theme.

    Some things that I noticed:

    I found the menus in the footer a bit inconvenient. Would be nice perhaps near the header.
    When you go to a page via the footer menu, except for the title, there's no way of seeing your site navigation.
    The articles previews are missing a 'read more' link. Perhaps not everyone will realize that you can click on the title.
    On the home page it would be nice perhaps to place the latest products to the top -above the fold- and the text next to it or below. This way, users see instantly where the site is about.

    Good luck!

  10. Thanked by:

    Franc Tireur (27 May, 2011)

  11. #7
    Franc Tireur is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,119
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 148 Times in 118 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kovich View Post
    Excellent! Keep us updated on how things go!
    By the way, how has business been these days? Haven't spoken to you in a while.
    Thank you As far as the business go, it is still difficult. I guess all of us are experiencing tuff time. We just continue to work hard to offer new products and new contents.

    This time we tried to change a little bit the routine by changing the design.
    Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.

    Voltaire


  12. #8
    TopDogger's Avatar
    TopDogger is offline Über Hund
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hellfire, AZ
    Posts
    3,087
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 916 Times in 700 Posts
    I like the new design. It looks smooooooth.

    One thing that I noticed is that you should take a look at the way that the shopping cart functions. When a product is added to the cart, the page page appears to refresh, but there is no indication that anything has been placed in the cart. I found myself hitting the Buy button repeatedly while looking for some indication that something was added to the cart. Perhaps you need something in the left sidebar or the header to indicate that products have been added to the cart. Some sort of indicator is needed to let people know that they have added an item to the cart.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote." -- Benjamin Franklin


  13. Thanked by:

    Franc Tireur (27 May, 2011)

  14. #9
    Franc Tireur is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,119
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 148 Times in 118 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Loko View Post
    Congrats on the new site, definitely an improvement.

    From the point of view as an average user (i'm not a designer or usability expert )

    What I like about your new site:
    'Spacier' compared to the old site (as far as i can recall), makes it easy to read.
    Articles, cool! (did you have these before?).
    Nice theme.

    Some things that I noticed:

    I found the menus in the footer a bit inconvenient. Would be nice perhaps near the header.
    When you go to a page via the footer menu, except for the title, there's no way of seeing your site navigation.
    The articles previews are missing a 'read more' link. Perhaps not everyone will realize that you can click on the title.
    On the home page it would be nice perhaps to place the latest products to the top -above the fold- and the text next to it or below. This way, users see instantly where the site is about.

    Good luck!
    Thank you This is why I choose to change the design. The old site was too tight for all our new content projects, so we changed with a new site offering more room, now all the elements on our e-commerce can breathe.

    The articles are very cool created by the most wonderful writers who have terrific talents. I have these articles before and added new ones.

    The footer menu work like the main menu, all the links have the same navigational concept. Don't underestimate the people, they will find the links

    The articles previews are missing a 'read more' link. I am thinking about that, I am trying to avoid repetitions on each paragraph, but it is always interesting to see how other people think.

    It would be nice perhaps to place the latest products to the top. I am thinking about that, perhaps in the middle.

    You know the new site was live yesterday, and we tried to keep almost everything in the same place than before so the site will not be too much shaked by the rankings before doing some major changes.

    I really appreciate your review, it will help one way or another, thank you for your help

    ---------- Post added at 06:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:33 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by TopDogger View Post
    I like the new design. It looks smooooooth.

    One thing that I noticed is that you should take a look at the way that the shopping cart functions. When a product is added to the cart, the page page appears to refresh, but there is no indication that anything has been placed in the cart. I found myself hitting the Buy button repeatedly while looking for some indication that something was added to the cart. Perhaps you need something in the left sidebar or the header to indicate that products have been added to the cart. Some sort of indicator is needed to let people know that they have added an item to the cart.

    Thank you, I like the new design too

    The cart can be viewed on the top navigation when you click on view cart. I have a module mini cart that can be added anytime, perhaps we will do that when the entire site will be indexed and updated.

    I appreciated your review too, thank you
    Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.

    Voltaire


  15. #10
    Loko's Avatar
    Loko is offline Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    964
    Thanks
    351
    Thanked 347 Times in 241 Posts
    If I may ask you, what payment system are you using? I'm looking for something but the local providers have high requirements.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •