Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Please Review deadwoodhotels.org

  1. #1
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    695
    Thanked 293 Times in 221 Posts

    Please Review deadwoodhotels.org

    Hi,

    Here is my new site about Deadwood and things in the Black Hills, South Dakota.

    Deadwood Hotels

    Now I already know more content site has only 2 post and 2 pages.

    I would like the review on the layout, color and any ideas you might have.

    Tell me what you think.

    Thanks in Advance

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  2. #2
    5starpix's Avatar
    5starpix is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    1,710
    Blog Entries
    9
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 227 Times in 164 Posts
    Can the text writing be removed? You seem to already have the title in the header. It looks very good in the header.

    I like the template and the color of it. However, the empty black space is turning it off. Can that be changed to match the remaining theme?

    If the search box is transparent (ie: you can see the background), it would be nice.

  3. Thanked by:

    Sami4u (27 February, 2010)

  4. #3
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    695
    Thanked 293 Times in 221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 5starpix View Post
    Can the text writing be removed? You seem to already have the title in the header. It looks very good in the header.

    I like the template and the color of it. However, the empty black space is turning it off. Can that be changed to match the remaining theme?

    If the search box is transparent (ie: you can see the background), it would be nice.
    Hi,

    Just a little lost here. Please copy paste what text writing be removed?

    What empty black space?

    Thanks

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  5. #4
    5starpix's Avatar
    5starpix is offline Senior Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    1,710
    Blog Entries
    9
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 227 Times in 164 Posts

    Smile

    Text:
    Deadwood Hotels

    Black Hills, Mount Rushmore, Sturgis Rally | Events | Concerts | Info
    Empty black space: here

  6. #5
    iHate's Avatar
    iHate is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Remove:
    Deadwood Hotels

    Black Hills, Mount Rushmore, Sturgis Rally | Events | Concerts | Info

    as you already have the title in the image

    but overall it looks very good.
    Submit your Proxies to ProxyEN today for free!
    Unblock Proxy List / YouTube Proxy List / Anonymous Proxy List / SSL Proxy List

  7. Thanked by:

    Sami4u (28 February, 2010)

  8. #6
    robjones's Avatar
    robjones is offline Trail Boss
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,115
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 441 Times in 292 Posts
    I like the look Sami, but have a problem with readability. You have to write differently on the web than on a printed page and you have to plan breaks in paragraphs based on the width you are using if you have a fixed width template.

    You have about 10 - 12 lines per paragraph. You dont want more than about 5 lines to a paragraph max. You've no doubt tried to read someone's posts in here when they fail to break for paragraphs and had the same issue. Having the breaks where they are would work if your format were wider, but if you have a narrow format you must break paragraphs more often or the reader's eyes glaze over.

    You'd also be better putting 2 lines between paragraphs instead of one. It is running together as-is. None of this is "techie", just a matter of fitting technique to work in the format you're using. Doesnt matter how nice the layout is if people dont stay to read. Fortunately it's easily fixed. :2 cents:

  9. Thanked by:

    bogart (1 March, 2010), Sami4u (28 February, 2010)

  10. #7
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    695
    Thanked 293 Times in 221 Posts
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by 5starpix View Post
    Text:
    Empty black space: here
    Ok 5starpix, I see but do you want me just to change to HOME??

    They need a way back to the home page?

    Don't the search engines read that stuff?

    Black Space that is in the sidebar that will grow down the page as more banner are added and posts are made.

    Is there a way to add something down there on the ft page only?

    On a side note: I will never allow the side bar to be larger the a single page post. I really dislike going to sites the sidebar runs for miles and the post is above the fold.

    Quote Originally Posted by robjones View Post
    I like the look Sami, but have a problem with readability. You have to write differently on the web than on a printed page and you have to plan breaks in paragraphs based on the width you are using if you have a fixed width template.

    You have about 10 - 12 lines per paragraph. You dont want more than about 5 lines to a paragraph max. You've no doubt tried to read someone's posts in here when they fail to break for paragraphs and had the same issue. Having the breaks where they are would work if your format were wider, but if you have a narrow format you must break paragraphs more often or the reader's eyes glaze over.

    You'd also be better putting 2 lines between paragraphs instead of one. It is running together as-is. None of this is "techie", just a matter of fitting technique to work in the format you're using. Doesnt matter how nice the layout is if people dont stay to read. Fortunately it's easily fixed. :2 cents:
    Thanks Rob.

    That is an easy fix. I will try the double space for paragraphs, and see that paragraphs are shorter.

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  11. #8
    TopDogger's Avatar
    TopDogger is online now Über Hund
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hellfire, AZ
    Posts
    3,077
    Thanks
    347
    Thanked 913 Times in 697 Posts
    Hi Sami

    The design really looks good. Nice job. I have been to Deadwood and you successfully captured the flavor of the town.

    There are a couple of issues that did grab my attention.

    1. People think of Deadwood as a western town with a typical wild west cowboy history. The percussion cap revolvers in the logo do match that, but the more modern short barrel revolvers used in the right column do not. That is not a western-style firearm. I think it would look more authentic if you used a western style revolver for the headers in the right column.

    A Colt Single Action Army revolver, also known as the Colt Peacemaker, was probably one of the most popular western firearms in the late 1800s and early 1900s. It was used by Buffalo Bill Cody and many popular western heroes. You will find lots of images and articles about that firearm on the web. A good image of the Colt with wooden grips will fit your theme very nicely.

    2. It is never a good idea to post entire articles on the home page. You are creating duplicate content that will delay the ranking of the post page. Use excerpts on the home page, just like you are properly doing on the category pages.

    3. The cartoonish image in the Deadwood real estate article does not match the western theme.

    I wish I had your design skills.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote." -- Benjamin Franklin


  12. Thanked by:

    bogart (1 March, 2010), robjones (28 February, 2010), Sami4u (1 March, 2010)

  13. #9
    robjones's Avatar
    robjones is offline Trail Boss
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,115
    Thanks
    513
    Thanked 441 Times in 292 Posts
    Topdogger is correct with respect to the snubnose you have in the right column... looks like a Smith & Wesson frame that became popular in the 1930s thru present... the "Detective's Special" series and the like. Not associated with "western"... more of a film noire "Mickey Spillane" novel thing.

    @topdog - I dont see C&B nipples on the ones in the logo... and that's a double action trigger and a birds-head grip. Think it's a "Colt Thunderer" or "Colt Lightning" (they differed in caliber but looked about the same). Either way it still works... Deadwood saw a mix of Western guns cause the heydey for that twon was 1870s+... the seam between the cap n ball era and the dawn of the Peacemaker. [ADDE I stand corrected... thinking those would have had grooves on the cylinder, not a smooth cylinder, so I missed on ID too from the looks of it.]

  14. #10
    TopDogger's Avatar
    TopDogger is online now Über Hund
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hellfire, AZ
    Posts
    3,077
    Thanks
    347
    Thanked 913 Times in 697 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robjones View Post
    @topdog - I dont see C&B nipples on the ones in the logo... and that's a double action trigger and a birds-head grip. Think it's a "Colt Thunderer" or "Colt Lightning" (they differed in caliber but looked about the same). Either way it still works... Deadwood saw a mix of Western guns cause the heydey for that twon was 1870s+... the seam between the cap n ball era and the dawn of the Peacemaker. [ADDE I stand corrected... thinking those would have had grooves on the cylinder, not a smooth cylinder, so I missed on ID too from the looks of it.]
    The grip on the handguns in the logo put me off a little bit, also. The smooth cylinder reminded me of an 1861 Navy Colt that I once had. Most of the smooth cylinder firearms that I've seen were early cap and ball firearms, so I made an assumption based upon that. I'm not sure what it is either. There were a lot of strange looking firearms being produced in the mid-1800s.

    Anyway, I think the consensus with the firearm buffs would be that you should use images of authentic Western firearms.

    If you are looking for Western rifles that would have been popular during that era, look for images of the Winchester model 1873 and the Winchester model 1894. These are the lever action rifles that you see in a lot of cowboy movies. Several Henry repeating rifles looked similar and were also popular.
    Last edited by TopDogger; 2 March, 2010 at 00:13 AM.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote." -- Benjamin Franklin


  15. Thanked by:

    robjones (28 February, 2010)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 May, 2011, 04:19 AM
  2. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  3. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •