Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Please Review VectroTunnel's New Site

  1. #1
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts

    Please Review VectroTunnel's New Site

    Surf The Web Anonymously and Unblock Websites | VectroTunnel

    I know the design is bland. I'll buy a better Joomla theme in the future. What I'm asking for is a review on the site's text and navigation.

    1. Does the information come across clearly?
    2. Is it easy to read, follow and understand?
    3. Does the point of what proxies are get across to newbies?
    4. If you were a proxy user, would the information make you want to sign up?
    5. Is the site easy to navigate?
    6. Is the order page easy to find?

  2. #2
    Mike-XS's Avatar
    Mike-XS is offline XeroAgent
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    OZ
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 109 Times in 71 Posts
    Overall the site looks good so far. On points 1 ( & maybe 2 ) : I think it could be improved.. and I'm sure you will improve it.

    If I was going to design it I would break up all the info in the top section a bit more to make it less cluttered and easier to read. There's too much text in my opinion and nothing stands out.

    For me, there needs to be more contrast in this text, and maybe less text. Needs some strong tags at least or something to highlight certain keywords..

    VectroTunnel is a tool you can use to surf the web anonymously and unblock websites.
    There is a small program you download to your computer.
    Then, you open it and configure your web browser to connect to it.

    This works in Firefox, Internet Explorer and Safari.
    Instructions are included for Windows, Mac and Linux.

    VectroTunnel also works with any software that is SOCKS4 and SOCKS5 compatible.
    It uses strong encryption, so even your ISP can not see what goes between you and this service.

    This keeps your online activity secure. If your ISP or country restricts what you can see on the web, you can now bypass their system and they won't even be able to detect it.
    You could break it up into a slideshow module with 3 panels, such as How it works , Compatible Browser and Operating systems and Strong Encryption.

    Less text, something like this at the top or swap around the text from the features list in the page body and move it to the top. :

    1. Download the tunnel software
    2. Log in to the tunnel
    3. Enter some settings into your browser (or other software)

    Or maybe use different coloured modules on sidebar / top to highlight certain information.

    3: There are a few technical terms which a new user will probably not understand, such as SSH , SOCKS etc.

    With this title Extremely Secure SOCKS SSH Tunnel Proxy, maybe change to something like Extremely Secure Proxy Tunnel - Supports SSH and SOCKS.. ( hey where did I put my socks ? )

    4: There's a lot to read, but nothing really jumps out at me and says this is why you should use vectroTunnel service instead of something else.

    5: It's not too bad. The top menu makes it nice and easy to navigate around.

    6: I think the order page link could be more prominent. Either a different background color to the rest of the links, a different module position on it's own or something ( different graphics / violator star bg image etc ) to get people to notice it more. How about Order Now!

    I know the design is bland. I'll buy a better Joomla theme in the future
    I could make you a custom Joomla template if you can't find a good one.

  3. Thanked by:

    vectro (3 January, 2011)

  4. #3
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    693
    Thanked 292 Times in 220 Posts
    Hi,

    I saw this not a big deal but want to point it out.

    .index minimum payout is $25.

    .affiliates Minimum Payout: $20 USD

    I agree with Mike-XS that a lot of words on top.

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  5. Thanked by:

    vectro (3 January, 2011)

  6. #4
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    I've started by changing the text at the very top. It's shorter and more to the point. When I first wrote it I was thinking about on-site SEO. It's still best not to make the visitor think too much. The $20/$25 thing has been fixed.

    I'm going to keep the phrase 'Extremely Secure SOCKS SSH Tunnel Proxy' as it is. I understand about newbies reading the technical terms and the fact that there's a lot of text, but I do get search traffic from search engines for a lot of the words found on the body. I suppose I have to strike a balance.

    I'm going to do more later like adding a signup button to the right of the features list. The bottom paragraphs 'Major Updates' and 'Proxy Webmasters Earn 50% Commission' will probably be removed. I'll replace them will small modules on the side under the log-in form. That way the main body will be less cluttered with text, but at the same time there will be less blank space on the left.

  7. #5
    webcoder is offline Unknown Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi,

    Here as some of my suggestions on the design:

    1. Keep it all one font: I see you are using some Times New Roman and a Arial like font. Pick one font and go with it.
    2. Simply the footer: Try to put the "© Vectro, Inc." inside that box and extend it? And where are the bread crumbs (links in the bottom)?
    3. The logo: If I were you, I would center the logo and maybe put a box around it? I don't know, just my suggestion.
    4. Smooth out the template: Round some of your edges, it will make your website smoother.
    5. The banner image: Don't squeeze the laptop in there, either make the banner bigger or make the laptop smaller. And I also see that you used rays. Why don't you gradiate it and make it fade out as it goes away from the laptop? Also maybe you can make colorful buttons in the banner to bit more by saying 'Learn More' or 'Sign up now' - stuff like that.

    That's all I got for now. I hope my feedback helped.

  8. Thanked by:

    vectro (3 January, 2011)

  9. #6
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by webcoder View Post
    Hi,

    Here as some of my suggestions on the design:

    1. Keep it all one font: I see you are using some Times New Roman and a Arial like font. Pick one font and go with it.
    2. Simply the footer: Try to put the "© Vectro, Inc." inside that box and extend it? And where are the bread crumbs (links in the bottom)?
    3. The logo: If I were you, I would center the logo and maybe put a box around it? I don't know, just my suggestion.
    4. Smooth out the template: Round some of your edges, it will make your website smoother.
    5. The banner image: Don't squeeze the laptop in there, either make the banner bigger or make the laptop smaller. And I also see that you used rays. Why don't you gradiate it and make it fade out as it goes away from the laptop? Also maybe you can make colorful buttons in the banner to bit more by saying 'Learn More' or 'Sign up now' - stuff like that.

    That's all I got for now. I hope my feedback helped.
    Most of what you mentioned requires customizations to the Joomla theme. I don't have time for all of that. In the future I'm going to scrap this theme and buy a much better one. For right now I'm more concerned about if the information in the text comes across to people correctly or not.

  10. #7
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    I've changed the header text and the layout of some of the other text so there's less blank space on the left and less clutter in the center.

  11. #8
    Leftfield's Avatar
    Leftfield is offline Free The Robots
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Budva, Montenegro
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I am not talking about design but that template sucks hard regarding on page SEO for Joomla 1.5.

    I can write a book about your template but you should carefully review How to override the output from the Joomla! core - Joomla! Documentation and make some major changes.

    Right now your headings (you have only h3) are only: "Login Form" "Major Updates" "Affiliates"...

    Do some CSS tricks with position: absolute, so you can bring main text (articles) to the top of your source page so it would have greater impact on engines.

  12. Thanked by:

    vectro (27 January, 2011)

  13. #9
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leftfield View Post
    I am not talking about design but that template sucks hard regarding on page SEO for Joomla 1.5.
    It does. Layout and template aside, does the text on the site do a good job of bringing the point across? I'm trying to get that right first before I worry about SEO and design.

  14. #10
    Leftfield's Avatar
    Leftfield is offline Free The Robots
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Budva, Montenegro
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vectro View Post
    ...does the text on the site do a good job of bringing the point across?.
    IMHO no.

    Bringing up some things in front would make more points:

    On the first place - no call for action button.
    Price is small, so you can point it just as "Just for $9.95"
    There is no notification such as "EASY TO SETUP". "Configure your web browser (or other software)." sounds more like: for the tech people only.
    "Full technical support is provided" but where? Forum? FAQ? Ticket system? (I see in module section "helpdesk" but no-one will read everything on the site).

  15. Thanked by:

    vectro (22 February, 2011)

Similar Threads

  1. Please review this gig site..
    By powermatrix in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18 November, 2010, 08:20 AM
  2. [WTS] VectroTunnel - SSH Tunnel Proxy, SOCKS Compatible
    By vectro in forum Marketplace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14 November, 2010, 21:18 PM
  3. Review please my site
    By Jeak in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27 June, 2009, 16:21 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23 June, 2009, 19:40 PM
  5. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •