Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Please Review WriterSeven.com

  1. #1
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts

    Please Review WriterSeven.com

    Hey guys! Please review my new writing blog:

    Writing Tips Blog | Writer Seven

    I made the design myself and wrote all of the articles. Be honest and let me know what you think. I can take constructive criticism, I promise.

  2. #2
    memenode's Avatar
    memenode is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    490
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 116 Posts
    Hello, here is my full review.

    Design:

    First impressions are good. Due to that old paper handwriting in the background of the site and the header title it looks somewhat artsy which always gives an impression of elegance and intellectualism not to mention it fits perfectly the purpose of the site.

    Everything flows nicely. I like the "Follow me on twitter" and "Need a writer?" buttons. They're inviting and well positioned as are the rest of the blocks.

    There is however a missing image in the homepage teaser of the "How to Build an Amazing Freelance Writing Portfolio" article. The same teaser is also missing the date of publishing. Aside from that the only suggestions I can think of on top of such a well designed site are nit picks.

    The lists in the sidebar might look slightly better if they had somewhat smaller indentation. Just moving them perhaps a dozen or so pixels back to the left would do it. This also has the advantage in that there's less chance of any link text jumping to next line in case a longer anchor text is used for something in the future.

    Another nit is the bottom margin of the "How to Become a Freelance Writer" block which seems too small (actually non-existent looking at CSS) making the "Read more" link a little too close to the next block's title.

    Finally names of input boxes for name, mail and website in the comment form could also use left margin. Right now they lean to the input fields.

    Regardless of these minor issues the site feels quite smooth, professional and pleasant and I think it still deserves a top rate.

    Design Rating: 10/10

    Focus:

    There's hardly much to say here since the very name of the site, WriterSeven.com, implies it's about writing. The titles on the homepage and the about page available right from the top menu leave little room for ambiguity making it clear what it is about and what it's not about as well as information about the author.

    Focus Rating: 10/10

    Content:

    So far the blog is updated around 2 or 3 times a week which is a pretty good rate. I've read the first two articles and they were brilliant. The content is natural, easy to read and engaging. Well.. what do I expect? The whole point is to promote good writing and help people write better and Corey Freeman does an excellent job at representing herself as a worthy source of advice. Excellent.

    Content Rating: 10/10

    Overall:

    WriterSeven.com is a blog everyone who is into writing on the web should consider reading (including myself ). Everything from presentation (aside from few minor nitpicks) to focus and content is well done. Congratulations and good luck!

    Overall Rating: 10/10

  3. #3
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    Thanks for the awesome review. I'll take a closer look at the design in the coming weeks.

  4. #4
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    I made a total overhaul of the design. Please let me know how it fits now.

  5. #5
    memenode's Avatar
    memenode is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    490
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 116 Posts
    Well the old design was 10/10 already, but I think this looks even better. The focus is changed a bit though as previously the homepage was a blog and now it primarily advertises your services and links to a blog, which is cool.

    I kinda expected those "Quick Turn Around" etc. images to link somewhere, but they seem to be just a brochure kind of thing.

    I really like how it all looks overall though, really professional.

  6. #6
    Aquarezz's Avatar
    Aquarezz is offline Master Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,851
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 591 Times in 463 Posts
    That design looks very promising, very nice! Away from content writing, do you also do design?

    On-Topic:

    • There should be a link to the order page indeed on this image.
    • The blue from 'learn more' is too light, make it a bit darker like the menu blue.
    • The menu should have some cool css style attached when hover. Another blue stuff that goes on or something else
    • The favicon is way too small, make the W7 a bit bigger and it's better.
    • Remove the TweetMeme stuff, it looks unprofessional -- especially on pages like here. Who the hell would tweet the contact page?
    • You can leave the TweetMeme plugin on the /blog/ though.

    Your website looks pretty nice and it tells me I should buy content I'm going to think about ordering
    |Nico Lawsons

  7. #7
    Arlind is offline Building!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Eagle's Land
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    It looks awesome. The design is very good and impressive.

    I like the content. Just start posting as much as you can.

    Good Luck with it

  8. #8
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aquarezz View Post
    That design looks very promising, very nice! Away from content writing, do you also do design?

    On-Topic:

    • There should be a link to the order page indeed on this image.
    • The blue from 'learn more' is too light, make it a bit darker like the menu blue.
    • The menu should have some cool css style attached when hover. Another blue stuff that goes on or something else
    • The favicon is way too small, make the W7 a bit bigger and it's better.
    • Remove the TweetMeme stuff, it looks unprofessional -- especially on pages like here. Who the hell would tweet the contact page?
    • You can leave the TweetMeme plugin on the /blog/ though.

    Your website looks pretty nice and it tells me I should buy content I'm going to think about ordering
    I don't like doing freelance design. In my experience the clients tend to get on my nerves, no offense to anybody.

    1) I don't think it makes sense to link to the order page on that image.
    2) I honestly think that if I make it darker, it won't stand out enough. I'm going for contrast.
    3) Okay, I'll add a hover effect.
    4) I can't really make the favicon letters any bigger. Perhaps I'll just make it a 7.
    5) I wasn't aware it was enabled on pages. I'll remove it from them. And somebody might tweet the contact page if they were recommending contacting me on twitter :P

    I'll think about your suggestions and make some modifications. Thanks for the honest review.

    @Arlind
    Thanks for the comment. I'm glad you like it.

  9. #9
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    I made a few minor adjustments and took down the homepage in favor of the blog as the front. Also, every link has a hover effect of the blue background.

    Writing Tips Blog | Writer Seven

    I still have to work on the favicon, but does anybody else have any opinions to share?

  10. #10
    Aquarezz's Avatar
    Aquarezz is offline Master Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,851
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 591 Times in 463 Posts
    The menu and links got so much better right now! The only neg. points I still see when viewing the homepage is:
    - The favicon, but you're working on it
    - The blue hover, when going over THE HEADER

    I don't like it, the logo should stay as it is, not go into another color. But it's up to you whether you keep it or not
    |Nico Lawsons

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  2. Please Review Writer7 (writerseven.com)
    By CoreyFreeman in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18 July, 2009, 01:11 AM
  3. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •