Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Review my blog please

  1. #1
    Jasonp's Avatar
    Jasonp is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

    Review my blog please

    Only started working on it a few day just working on content....

    Forum Promotion

  2. #2
    Jasonp's Avatar
    Jasonp is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks for your comment , what could i put on the sidebar?

    cheers

  3. #3
    Aquarezz's Avatar
    Aquarezz is offline Master Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,851
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 591 Times in 463 Posts
    Excellent theme! Really!

    The menu is still empty, add some pages like About Us, Advertising, Contact Us etc to it

    You don't have a favicon yet -- it makes a website better IMO.

    To the sidebar, you can add: Recent Posts (when you get bigger), most viewed posts, most commented, tag mod etc.

    Good luck with the blog man!
    |Nico Lawsons

  4. Thanked by:


  5. #4
    robjones's Avatar
    robjones is offline Trail Boss
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,112
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 441 Times in 292 Posts
    Agree with all suggestions above this point. One possible add on that rightside bar...

    * links to some forums divided by type of platform used... VBulletin, Instantforum.net, PhPbb, etc. ?

    * links to some of the software vendor sites?

    Not my area of expertise, just thinking what I'd look for if reading a site of that nature. Maybe get reseller privs for some of the software packages and use it as a way of monetizing beyond ad revenues.

  6. #5
    texashiker's Avatar
    texashiker is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 56 Times in 46 Posts
    The site is off to a good start. But I recommend some categories or sections dedicated to the different types of forum software.

    Maybe setup some test forums for people to look at in subdomains of your site? Maybe even install a forum of your own?

  7. Thanked by:


  8. #6
    proweb's Avatar
    proweb is offline Joomla Developer
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
    I like the theme, it is very nice!

    Keep posting on it and you will have success with it!

  9. #7
    Jasonp's Avatar
    Jasonp is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks for the comments guys , will be adding :
    * Favicon
    * Most viewed topic ( would add more but the blog is new )
    * More pages .. contact , advertising etc..
    * Links to forum software's
    * Reviews of forum software/ forum mods
    I am debating whether to add a forum or not , and what software would work best and maybe intergrate with wordpress? or keep it seperate.

  10. #8
    Jasonp's Avatar
    Jasonp is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    I been working on getting the forum up and running this is it so far,

    Forum Promotion Forums

  11. #9
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    630
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by menj View Post
    Looks great but the sidebar content on the right is quite bare. You need to do something about that.
    I agree, there's plenty of space there.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasonp View Post
    what could i put on the sidebar?
    Blogroll/link exchange. That usually works for me.

    Quote Originally Posted by robjones View Post
    * links to some forums divided by type of platform used... VBulletin, Instantforum.net, PhPbb, etc. ?

    * links to some of the software vendor sites?

    Maybe get reseller privs for some of the software packages and use it as a way of monetizing beyond ad revenues.
    Good suggestions, especially the reseller idea. I wonder what the per-click value for 'forum' niche is compared to other niches. Affiliate programs seem to be more profitable, especially considering people pay good money for vB licenses.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasonp View Post
    I been working on getting the forum up and running this is it so far,

    Forum Promotion Forums
    Good luck!

  12. Thanked by:

    robjones (26 February, 2010)

  13. #10
    iHate's Avatar
    iHate is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    nice colour scheme but i recommend the right sidebar
    need to be longer because otherwise it looks a bit uneven.
    Submit your Proxies to ProxyEN today for free!
    Unblock Proxy List / YouTube Proxy List / Anonymous Proxy List / SSL Proxy List

Similar Threads

  1. Review My Blog
    By StephenM in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15 July, 2010, 22:35 PM
  2. Review My New Blog
    By Rohitpatel in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19 February, 2010, 13:00 PM
  3. Review My New Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23 October, 2009, 21:00 PM
  4. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  5. SEO Blog Review
    By Badlands07 in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9 July, 2009, 04:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •