Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Review my Haunted Castles

  1. #1
    Habaku's Avatar
    Habaku is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 48 Times in 41 Posts

    Review my Haunted Castles

    Please review the MostHauntedCastles. Looking forward to everybody's feedback on this site and it's castles in Scotland and Ireland.

    Thanks!
    H.

  2. #2
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    695
    Thanked 293 Times in 221 Posts
    Hi,

    I like the site color it's great for that type of site. I clicked around a bit

    I am not a fan of Tags just a personal thing. If I would change anything it would be the sidebar. Move Latest Articles to where the tags are it would also allow the other google ad to be closer to the top.

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  3. Thanked by:

    Habaku (9 July, 2011)

  4. #3
    TopDogger's Avatar
    TopDogger is offline Über Hund
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hellfire, AZ
    Posts
    3,079
    Thanks
    347
    Thanked 914 Times in 698 Posts
    The site looks very nice and it has a good domain name.

    I am also not a big fan of tags or large numbers of links on a page. Too many links makes a site look confusing and dilutes the effectiveness of inheritance factors that you want to pass to the inner pages. There are over 160 links on the home page. From my viewpoint, anything over 50 is probably too many. I've seen too many sites with inner pages that never rank well due to an overuse of links in the internal linking structure.

    Doing a castle tour of the UK is actually on my bucket list. I did that several years ago in Germany and really enjoyed it. When I get the chance to fulfill the UK goal on my list, I will use your site as a reference.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote." -- Benjamin Franklin


  5. Thanked by:

    Habaku (9 July, 2011)

  6. #4
    Andy101's Avatar
    Andy101 is offline Code Otaku
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Kanazawa
    Posts
    1,266
    Thanks
    173
    Thanked 305 Times in 232 Posts
    Great-looking site and bags of content, plus good on-page SEO.

    I just noticed a heck of a lot of HTML comments in the source code that serve no purpose for visitors to the site and should ideally be stripped out when the template is uploaded to the web.

  7. Thanked by:

    Habaku (10 July, 2011)

  8. #5
    Habaku's Avatar
    Habaku is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 48 Times in 41 Posts
    Thanks for the review, removed tag cloud and changed the ad position as you have suggested. The ads are different on the home page and post pages for example. Not sure if the home page image ad in the sidebar should be changed to text as well. What do you think?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sami4u View Post
    Hi,

    I like the site color it's great for that type of site. I clicked around a bit

    I am not a fan of Tags just a personal thing. If I would change anything it would be the sidebar. Move Latest Articles to where the tags are it would also allow the other google ad to be closer to the top.

    Sami


    ---------- Post added at 22:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 21:50 PM ----------

    Thanks for your review as well Über Hund! I reduced on the tags, there should be less links now on the home page, willl do a count later today. There are more haunted castles articles planned, so when you make your UK castle tour my site should really be helpful as a guide.

    As you might have noticed I also have a site dedicated to England, haunted places in England. I just mention it because the site you have reviewed is about Scotland, Ireland and Wales. If the design on my new site is a success in terms of CTR then I might change the old site to the new theme as well.

    The England site needs to see many changes as well, I know that. There are some early posts which will have a makeover, yet the new articles are really worth reading.

    Quote Originally Posted by TopDogger View Post
    The site looks very nice and it has a good domain name.

    I am also not a big fan of tags or large numbers of links on a page. Too many links makes a site look confusing and dilutes the effectiveness of inheritance factors that you want to pass to the inner pages. There are over 160 links on the home page. From my viewpoint, anything over 50 is probably too many. I've seen too many sites with inner pages that never rank well due to an overuse of links in the internal linking structure.

    Doing a castle tour of the UK is actually on my bucket list. I did that several years ago in Germany and really enjoyed it. When I get the chance to fulfill the UK goal on my list, I will use your site as a reference.

  9. #6
    Habaku's Avatar
    Habaku is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 48 Times in 41 Posts
    Thanks Andy! I noticed this before, and I guess the theme developper uses it as a form of advertising
    As you have probably found out the site runs on the HeatMap Theme which I can really recommend checking out!

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy101 View Post
    Great-looking site and bags of content, plus good on-page SEO.

    I just noticed a heck of a lot of HTML comments in the source code that serve no purpose for visitors to the site and should ideally be stripped out when the template is uploaded to the web.

  10. #7
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,421
    Thanks
    695
    Thanked 293 Times in 221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Habaku View Post
    Thanks for the review, removed tag cloud and changed the ad position as you have suggested. The ads are different on the home page and post pages for example. Not sure if the home page image ad in the sidebar should be changed to text as well. What do you think?
    Hi,

    I like this so much better

    As far as the image ad at the bottom it seem to draw your attention to the image I would leave it if the clicks are not making you what you hoped for change it later.

    This a very well laid out nice and square site IMO.

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  11. Thanked by:

    Habaku (13 July, 2011)

  12. #8
    TopDogger's Avatar
    TopDogger is offline Über Hund
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hellfire, AZ
    Posts
    3,079
    Thanks
    347
    Thanked 914 Times in 698 Posts
    I like that much better. The conglomerate of tag cloud links on the right side was very confusing.

    Users are comfortable with sites that stick to a standard design layout. When you stray from that too much, you will see your bounce rate go up.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote." -- Benjamin Franklin


  13. Thanked by:

    Habaku (13 July, 2011)

  14. #9
    Habaku's Avatar
    Habaku is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 48 Times in 41 Posts
    Thanks again for the review guys. Now I am tackling how to rank well, not only for most haunted castles. I would also like to rank for the particular castles.
    I intend do some one site SEO by inserting links to relevant sites. Backlinks seems to be the more difficult part, the niche is relatively small. Any good ideas are welcomed

  15. #10
    aayati is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nice site, images of the interior would be good if you can get them and information as to whether the castles are open for ghost tours. Have been on a few and a site that provides the details for all the ghost tours in the UK would be a great idea, can also have a section for other haunted buildings, but the main thing would be more imagery.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •