Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Review My New Site

  1. #11
    Ace
    Ace is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Logo looks poor(paint?) and yea it's kinda of a copy of digital point, may be you could make your own design something techy?

  2. #12
    Riccur is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, I guess it is sort of a rip from Digital Point. But I am not exactly sure what goes with what since I am still learning about the webmaster stuff too. You think if I added another category with some things it would help to hide the Digital Point categories?

  3. #13
    ubz
    ubz is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    forumUwant.com - the name sounds like the place should be for fun n entertainment. Before clicking I did not expected it to be a tech forum.
    TBH, dont go for a tech forum. If you are looking for monetizing it with Adsense, its already a failure. Nobody clicks. And Forum CTR is the lowest I think.
    Plus it takes a lot of effort to get members to a new forum and have them post. Just ask Farrhad about it
    Anyways, Good luck in whatever u do!

  4. #14
    Aquarezz's Avatar
    Aquarezz is offline Master Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,853
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 591 Times in 463 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Riccur View Post
    Yeah, I guess it is sort of a rip from Digital Point. But I am not exactly sure what goes with what since I am still learning about the webmaster stuff too. You think if I added another category with some things it would help to hide the Digital Point categories?
    You could rename the current categories and spread them around a little bit instead of adding even more categories that might not be used yet because there aren't a lot of members yet

    But you really need another template -- that could be thé factor that could make your forum succeed

  5. #15
    Alex Fraiser's Avatar
    Alex Fraiser is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The domain is really unnecessary.. You use "forum" twice in it. Why don't you just put the forum in the root directory? It would make the domain sound better and make it easy to get to.

    If I were you, i would just seriously rethink this project. The idea behind the domain "this is your forum" is good I think, but you didn't execute it well.

    Good luck, hopefully that helped you.

  6. #16
    Riccur is offline Net Builder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, if you go to the root directory, you are able to get to the forum still, you just have to click the link. I was thinking about doing something else with the root directory.

    How could I better execute it?

  7. #17
    Logan's Avatar
    Logan is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Coast, Canada
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm not a fan of the name, but I won't elaborate, because you can't change it. The forum is very ambiguous - it could be any type of forum. The design is very simple; try to model yours after the design here. Aren't those categories the same ones as at Digital Point? Creativity is highly rewarded, while copying isn't.
    Visit my business blog! YouthBusinessBlog.com

  8. #18
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Riccur View Post
    Well, if you go to the root directory, you are able to get to the forum still, you just have to click the link. I was thinking about doing something else with the root directory.

    How could I better execute it?
    Splash pages are bad for SEO, and yours isn't even designed. I would 301 redirect to your forum directory, or move the forum to the root.

    Not to be harsh - but if you don't even know what you want the forum to be about, then how can you know what you want on the main page? It would be better to just have the forum there. Also, forumyouwant.com is available.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Please review my new site
    By ChaoscripT in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 September, 2009, 11:25 AM
  2. Please review my site
    By nick09 in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21 June, 2009, 22:26 PM
  3. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM
  4. Please Review My Site
    By Sharky Hosting in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24 January, 2009, 01:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •