Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [Review Request] Looking to revamp - need ideas!

  1. #1
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts

    [Review Request] Looking to revamp - need ideas!

    Hello everyone.

    Recently, I've become aware of the fact that I have been horrifically neglecting my discussion forum and I am now looking to fix that. There is a strong, tight-knit community present that is very active. I have two dedicated moderators, as well. It has also been pulling in a profit, which is great. So, the problem? Tons of visitors - no conversions. People are coming to the forum, checking it out, and leaving. There's no new blood. I need to figure out why and then rectify it. I'm thinking of buying a brand new design and changing some things around. I just reconfigured a lot of the backend and vBSEO settings as well.

    Hopefully you can share some ideas for improvement so I can get this forum in the spotlight where it belongs. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Kovich; 20 March, 2012 at 05:12 AM.

  2. #2
    ReformedSinner is offline SEO Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Umm, what's up with Cookie Monster?

    Maybe you can feature the top 10 or 20 popular topics / threads from your forum somewhere above the fold.

  3. Thanked by:

    Kovich (21 April, 2010)

  4. #3
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Haha, the Cookie Monster is part of a program where we take a random image and use it to welcome people. We had Humphrey Bogart at one point. Back around the time of the Video Music Awards, we did an introduction with Kanye West. More recently we had Tiger Woods up for a while because of his recent scandal. Basically something to sort of make people smile when they come to the forum. Cookie Monster was the idea of one of our members, and we just went with it. :P

    Maybe you can feature the top 10 or 20 popular topics / threads from your forum somewhere above the fold.
    Interesting idea! I used to do this at one point - a link to some of the hottest discussion and debate subjects going on.
    As per your suggestion, I'll try doing it again.
    --

    I'm also trying to locate a nice theme for the forum...
    I liked this one: http://www.forummonkeys.com/forums/vbulletinskins/index.php?styleid=67

    Though someone said, "My personal preference is for darker themes. They're much easier on the eyes. All the white on this theme and the one you linked is just kind of bland and boring. I'm not asking for like Rainbow Brite or anything, but something more eyecatching yet functional."

    What do you guys think? What sort of theme would be fitting?

  5. #4
    ReformedSinner is offline SEO Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Hopefully that will bring back more visitors to your forum.

  6. #5
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Well, I changed up a lot of things!

    Let me know what you guys think.

Similar Threads

  1. TwitterStorm: Review Request
    By Kovich in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 2 January, 2010, 16:47 PM
  2. Review Request For My Entertainment Sites
    By MWick in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29 November, 2009, 21:55 PM
  3. Review Request - New Feature!
    By Kovich in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30 October, 2009, 19:42 PM
  4. [Review Request] Top Private Servers
    By Aziz in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18 October, 2009, 22:26 PM
  5. Before You Request a Site Review
    By Will.Spencer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23 April, 2009, 11:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •