Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Review shorty.im

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    offwalk.com
    Posts
    1,514

    Review shorty.im

    Hi Friends,

    Requesting you to review Easy and Simple Domain checker site; http://shorty.im

    Looking out for comments on design, script and other issues. Suggest the changes required for it.

    Thanx in advance.

    G!

  2. #2
    -The template looks a bit familiar to some other url shorteners. Something fresh and more web 2.0 would do justice to the nice domainname.
    -I think new visitors might not know or understand the purpose of the site. Perhaps a catchy description would help.
    -The generated short URL should be ready to copy -or already copied to the clipboard- instead of having to select it first with the mouse.
    -I like the 'Newest Short URL's' feature
    -Nice domain name !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    I'm going to have to agree with Loko, the design can definitely be improved.

    My problem with it is that the design looks like it's trying to come off as nice and appealing but it's very basic and plain. Usually when designing something like this you either go for stunning looks, or you go very minimal and get to the point. You see what I'm saying?

    Otherwise, the domain name is nice and the site itself is functional and it's very easy to understand what to do. For example, the URL box is visible, it's not hidden anywhere or bogged down by advertisements. And as Loko suggested, I would try adding some text to introduce your visitors to the service.

  4. Happy 1,000th Post again, GeeOne!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    offwalk.com
    Posts
    1,514
    Quote Originally Posted by EighteenthSense View Post
    Happy 1,000th Post again, GeeOne!
    Oh yes you noticed it, thanx for for it.

    G!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    367
    Looks good how it is but I would talk about what a URL shorten site does and why you may want to use one.

  7. #7
    Its Good , I liked domain

    But here are my Suggestions : -
    * Use base62 for Short Code Not Only Numerical Like 1a , 2cX . [Contact Me for This PHP Function]
    * Ajax the Theme
    * Add Some Attractive Tool set Like , Recent Shortened URL , Stats Of Url , Top Viewed URL
    * Visit My URL Shorter http://su.ly For Some Ideas

    If you are in trouble with codes .Sure you contact me
    Visit : Paste-Bin | Yahoo Tracer | Twitter Signatures
    Contact Me For PHP Works
    An cURL Expertise

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    offwalk.com
    Posts
    1,514
    Chetan your site is really very good, congratulations.

    I have the problem with codes and design as well (I will not able to do any thing on my own need some help, ofcourse I would pay for that).

    Please let me know if you can do it.

    Thanx in advance.

    G!

    Quote Originally Posted by chetan View Post
    Its Good , I liked domain

    But here are my Suggestions : -
    * Use base62 for Short Code Not Only Numerical Like 1a , 2cX . [Contact Me for This PHP Function]
    * Ajax the Theme
    * Add Some Attractive Tool set Like , Recent Shortened URL , Stats Of Url , Top Viewed URL
    * Visit My URL Shorter http://su.ly For Some Ideas

    If you are in trouble with codes .Sure you contact me

Similar Threads

  1. [Free] url shortening services @ shorty.im
    By GeeOne in forum Services
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29 September, 2009, 09:11 AM
  2. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  3. [WTS] Shorty.im - Tinyurl Site - Buy Now
    By Soulzripper in forum Sites
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6 August, 2009, 18:40 PM
  4. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •