Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Review: vectrotube.com

  1. #1
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts

    Review: vectrotube.com

    I have already checked this site using the recommended tools in the sticky.

    Please review both the design and functionality of vectrotube.com which is a tool to download YouTube videos directly to your computer.

    If you can, please review anything else you might notice such as my monetization techniques / ad placement.

    NOTE: MP4 (HD) only works if the original video is in HD.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Will.Spencer's Avatar
    Will.Spencer is offline Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,033
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,010
    Thanked 2,327 Times in 1,258 Posts
    This is a very competitive niche, because there are a lot of sites that do this and not a lot of difference between them.

    I have been personally notified by Google that I could not place AdSense ads on pages which assisted people in downloading videos from YouTube. They called it "hacking."

    Your page will rank better if you put your targeted keywords in h1 and h2 tags.
    Submit Your Webmaster Related Sites to the NB Directory
    I swear, by my life and my love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.

  3. Thanked by:

    vectro (27 January, 2010)

  4. #3
    Dusan's Avatar
    Dusan is offline Webmajor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Balkans
    Posts
    40
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 19 Times in 8 Posts
    For adsense links, you should use color: #000080

  5. Thanked by:

    vectro (27 January, 2010)

  6. #4
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Will.Spencer View Post
    This is a very competitive niche, because there are a lot of sites that do this and not a lot of difference between them.

    I have been personally notified by Google that I could not place AdSense ads on pages which assisted people in downloading videos from YouTube. They called it "hacking."

    Your page will rank better if you put your targeted keywords in h1 and h2 tags.
    Good to know. I can probably get more creative than AdSense, anyhow. Happen to have a copy of that letter?

  7. #5
    Will.Spencer's Avatar
    Will.Spencer is offline Retired
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,033
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,010
    Thanked 2,327 Times in 1,258 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vectro View Post
    Good to know. I can probably get more creative than AdSense, anyhow. Happen to have a copy of that letter?
    It was a couple of years ago -- it was very shortly after they bought YouTube.

    They were grumpy about that one page specifically, on a much larger site of mine.
    Submit Your Webmaster Related Sites to the NB Directory
    I swear, by my life and my love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.

  8. #6
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Have you considered adding more functionality to the site? For example:

    A bookmark tool. Add it to your 'Bookmark Toolbar' and when you click it, it downloads the video of the page you're on, or something to that effect.

    Popular and Recent Videos. Steaming lists of popular and recent videos downloaded using your tool.

    Also, have you considered adding some content to your site to make it less empty? Maybe you could try writing about how YouTube is becoming a big part of today's society or something to that effect.

    P.S. It's nice to see you recommending VLC. Good to see Open Source recommendations.

  9. Thanked by:

    vectro (27 January, 2010)

  10. #7
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Will.Spencer View Post
    Your page will rank better if you put your targeted keywords in h1 and h2 tags.
    H1 text added.

    Quote Originally Posted by Will.Spencer View Post
    They were grumpy about that one page specifically, on a much larger site of mine.
    http://youtube.tdjc.be/ <-- This one uses AdSense.

    I removed the AdSense units and will try smowtion.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kovich View Post
    Have you considered adding more functionality to the site? For example:

    A bookmark tool. Add it to your 'Bookmark Toolbar' and when you click it, it downloads the video of the page you're on, or something to that effect.

    Popular and Recent Videos. Steaming lists of popular and recent videos downloaded using your tool.

    Also, have you considered adding some content to your site to make it less empty? Maybe you could try writing about how YouTube is becoming a big part of today's society or something to that effect.

    P.S. It's nice to see you recommending VLC. Good to see Open Source recommendations.
    If I had the programming skills I would do that popular video idea. I just added a small amount of content along the lines of what you suggested and will add more when I work on it later. Bookmark tool is not a bad idea, either.

    VLC is my only choice of video player.

  11. #8
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Starting to look good! I see the <H1> tag is in place, so now try the other H tags if you can.
    The <h> Hierarchy: Using Heading Tags the Right Way

    Also, beneath the content you just added, you should also write some more details about what your tool does and how it can help a user.

  12. #9
    vectro's Avatar
    vectro is offline I Like Stuff
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    625
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kovich View Post
    Starting to look good! I see the <H1> tag is in place, so now try the other H tags if you can.
    The <h> Hierarchy: Using Heading Tags the Right Way

    Also, beneath the content you just added, you should also write some more details about what your tool does and how it can help a user.
    I've changed the headings for the bottom paragraphs from <b> to <h3>. I added more content about how the site helps different people.

    I wonder if Google changed their tune about the AdSense issue on these sites. I have been looking around and see that many of them do use AdSense. Does anyone think at some point Google figured that if people are going to make YouTube downloaders, the least they could do is put AdSense units on it so Google can make some money?

    Lastly, should I center the form? It seems to be just soft of floating off to the left.

  13. #10
    Kovich's Avatar
    Kovich is offline Community Guardian
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,797
    Blog Entries
    30
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 420 Times in 279 Posts
    Yeah, I would probably try centering the form.

Similar Threads

  1. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  2. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •