Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Soltrago Review

  1. #1
    imported_maximus is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Soltrago Review

    Hi people!
    Please review my website, www.soltrago.com . The website is just 3 months old, and currently, isn't displaying very good in Internet Explorer 6. Please tell me your thoughts and suggestions.
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Farrhad A's Avatar
    Farrhad A is offline Netbuilder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    846
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Well, sorry if I am being harsh but the site is really not good at all. (Remember, critiques are what improve your stuff)

    You need a better font, better styling.

    When i first visited your site I could not understand what your site was about. Then i noticed the title. So mention the same thing on the page.

    You logo's background is different from the page's background.
    My Blog- Let's Get Talking!
    Are you on Twitter? Let's become friends!

  3. #3
    imported_maximus is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your review Farrhad A. I will try to create a better font for it. Have you visited the inner pages (subdomains) like http://en.soltrago.com/ or another? They are better than the main page. Also, what browser do you use? My website is not displaying very well in IE 6. As for the logo background, I know about this problem, but when I checked my website, it appears only on CRT monitors. On LCD monitors, the background was the same, so I did not bothered to change it, as in the future, the CRT monitors will loose their market share, since, even nowadays, they are not being produced anymore.

  4. #4
    Farrhad A's Avatar
    Farrhad A is offline Netbuilder
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    846
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    My Blog- Let's Get Talking!
    Are you on Twitter? Let's become friends!

  5. #5
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    I wasn't sure what your website was about at first, and having a splash page is bad for usability and SEO. Plus, the website itself looks like nothing but spam.

    I hate to be harsh, but with the layout and the current design, I don't think you'll be getting many users. :/

  6. #6
    imported_maximus is offline Newbie Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sneakyheathen View Post
    I wasn't sure what your website was about at first, and having a splash page is bad for usability and SEO. Plus, the website itself looks like nothing but spam.

    I hate to be harsh, but with the layout and the current design, I don't think you'll be getting many users. :/
    why do you think that it looks like spam? did you looked on the other pages of the website? Does, the main page of wikipedia.org also look like spam to you?

  7. #7
    CoreyFreeman's Avatar
    CoreyFreeman is offline Experienced Net Builder
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    692
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 55 Times in 47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by maximus View Post
    why do you think that it looks like spam? did you looked on the other pages of the website? Does, the main page of wikipedia.org also look like spam to you?
    1) There are a ridiculous amount of text links with default colors and distracting backgrounds. Poor layout and a giant flashing banner. Plus adsense and large "donate" buttons. Looks like spam to my eyes.

    2) Yes I did.

    3) No. But I can also figure out what Wikipedia is about, and its theme fits with its main page. Yours doesn't.

  8. #8
    Aquarezz's Avatar
    Aquarezz is offline Master Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,852
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 591 Times in 463 Posts
    The frontpage looks like Wikipedia.org and the white of the banner isn't fading well into the background.

    If you have the knowledge to make it, it would be nice to create something flash-based that rotates the different countries around the earth image, to make it more than HTML 2.0 from the early 90's

    What looks very unprofessional are the little banners on the bottom of the page, I would definately remove them together with the links on the frontpage.

    Since there is no Dutch on the website, I visited it through English but it completely blocked, so I closed the page -- It's probably a problem on my pc though, but it means I can't comment on the inner pages I'm sorry

    Keep it up with the site though, good luck improving it

Similar Threads

  1. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  2. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •