Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: YouDownOrUp.com Review

  1. #1
    iowadawg's Avatar
    iowadawg is offline Free Cell Champion
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Not in Texas
    Posts
    2,015
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 353 Times in 302 Posts

    YouDownOrUp.com Review

    New site simply because I had this script.

    It is like the downforeveryoneorjustme site.
    Where one check to see if a website is up or not.

    Now, check it out and let me know:
    a. can you come up with a better title?
    b. the banner, should it stay or go?
    c. is it fast enough for you?

    And anything else you can come up with.

  2. #2
    UncleP's Avatar
    UncleP is online now The perfect face for radio
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Blighty
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 90 Times in 60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by iowadawg View Post
    ...
    Now, check it out and let me know:
    a. can you come up with a better title?
    How about 'thesitecheck.com' (make me an offer ), the shorter the better imho, it needs to be memorable. I can't think of anything else that isn't a double entendre (oo er misses).

    Quote Originally Posted by iowadawg View Post
    ...
    b. the banner, should it stay or go?
    Will it make any $'s? Could be bigger maybe, if it's the only one. Or rotate with others perhaps. Put a few words of content (instructions?) and have adsense too. You could even put a site name banner on it.

    Quote Originally Posted by iowadawg View Post
    ...
    c. is it fast enough for you?
    Yeah, seems to be for me. I'd need to try it with a dead site to be sure tho'.

    Quote Originally Posted by iowadawg View Post
    ...
    And anything else you can come up with.
    In I.E. the site input box shifts the inputted text down under the form so it isn't visible, it's OK in F.F. but you could try without the "padding:8px;" in <style> "form input" for us luddites.

    But otherwise good enough.
    If I can't be a good example, I'll just have to be a terrible warning...

    Check website whois and PR on TheSiteCheck.com

  3. #3
    iowadawg's Avatar
    iowadawg is offline Free Cell Champion
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Not in Texas
    Posts
    2,015
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 353 Times in 302 Posts
    thesitecheck.com Hey, have just the script for that! Site checker...let me find the demo: Sites Information Checker
    But will wait until next year.
    Though for $10, will take that domain off your hands.

    The banner?
    Hmmm...rotating banners might work.
    Will work on that.

    Will have to think about instructions, seems clear enough to me.
    See the original site: Down for everyone or just me?

    Check for down site? I would use some made up url (asdflkj;lt56.com???? for instance).
    Both pop up in about 1/2 seconds or less for me.

    To me, in IE8, it looks good. just a bit to the left is the only difference I see between IE and FF.
    Wow...you made me actually use IE!!!! ahhahahahahhaaa

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Sami4u's Avatar
    Sami4u is offline Butterflies Forever
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,407
    Thanks
    670
    Thanked 292 Times in 220 Posts
    Hi,

    That has got to be the simplest site I have ever seen I would of thought it would need text but it looks like you competition don't have any. Hummm

    I would think if it had some it would help get better ratings. but I am a dummy.

    Only thing I could see different between the two sites is they have a favicon.

    I don't see anything wrong with the domain name it seem to fit.

    I can only see one downside to the site other then it will needs a tons of links to let people know about it.

    The only reason to you would use the site is if your site was not showing up for you, so your chance of getting lots of traffic would only depend if people have crappy hosts.

    Here is what I would also do.

    Add a big smile face gif if the site is working and a frown if it is not

    Also I would remove the banner from the main page and fill the second/results page with as many ads/seo affiliate marketing text links as you could. That way after they check there site they would find tons of useful inf that would help them.

    I do not see them going to the site and clicking an advertisement before they used it. I would IMO use that top space to make a logo for branding instead. I feel it would make the site look more warm and friendly.

    Bets of luck with your new site.

    Sami
    Current Celebrity Gossip Movies & More TV Site
    Find out how I'm able to get up to 420 backlinks for month, by spending 30 seconds per day...all for FREE! - Click Here

  5. Thanked by:

    iowadawg (10 December, 2010)

  6. #5
    iowadawg's Avatar
    iowadawg is offline Free Cell Champion
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Not in Texas
    Posts
    2,015
    Blog Entries
    4
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 353 Times in 302 Posts
    Favicons are overrated.

    Yes, I think for a site like this, the plainer the better.

    I have been searching for more sites like this, and a couple I have found are so overloaded in logos, graphics, words and advertising.

    Not really, anyone who wants to check a site (does not have to be their own site) would use a site like mine.
    How many times have you gone to a site and it was down for you?
    But if you had checked, it might be up for everyone else?

    Oh, and my site is indexed by google.
    Just shows you how fast google is at indexing sites.
    Puts a lie to all those that say their site is not indexed.

  7. #6
    Zash's Avatar
    Zash is offline WiredStorm.com - Lightning Fast Web Hosting
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    1,137
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 121 Times in 93 Posts
    You should make it look nicer. The form and Go button aren't the same size and the header text looks rather ugly.

    In order for minimalistic sites to look good, like Down for everyone or just me - you need to use CSS to maximize the potential of the few elements that are there.
    WiredStorm Hosting Solutions
    █ Lightning Fast Shared and Reseller Hosting
    █ cPanel with Softaculous and 24/7 Email (Ticket) Support
    Biodegradable Sunscreen - Unblock Facebook

  8. #7
    forumbuilder is offline Unknown Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Actually if you change the name , you have to change the entire frameup. I like it the way it is. You may want to put some more visual content on the screen and maybe a brief explanation on what the site is capable of. I definitely get it and think it is cool.
    vps hosting and free nda at your fingertips when needed.

  9. Thanked by:

    iowadawg (10 December, 2010)

  10. #8
    alexput75 is offline Unknown Net Builder
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    nice, simple and clean design. I like it. Less content always the better!
    i give it 8/10
    Best wishes,
    OwlDomain.com - Get a website address, host review, web site builders, host provider, and host your site.

  11. Thanked by:

    iowadawg (10 December, 2010)

Similar Threads

  1. Review Review My Blog
    By weirdnessme in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 September, 2009, 07:13 AM
  2. Please review my site - best review gets a prize!
    By forcer in forum Site Reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30 April, 2009, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •